Back in the Saddle in the Post-Apocalypse

Apocalypse?

A few years ago, I had the extreme privilege to speak on the phone with Winnipeg-based Psychedelic Folk singer/songwriter, Smoky Tiger. He spoke of energy centres on Earth where spiritual energy was its most acute (he was, in fact, in the process of packing for a trip to visit the Mayan ruins: one such spiritual hotbed). We spoke of souls, we spoke of inner vision, and we spoke of the then oncoming apocalypse of 2012. Up until that point, I had written off the idea of the impending apocalypse as a bogus media blitz attempting to incite the masses into a consumerist frenzy as they readied themselves for the end of life as we know it.

But it was Smokey Tiger’s take on the apocalypse that I was most interested in. Ever since I had first heard the surprisingly upbeat track, conveniently enough called ‘Apocalypse‘, I needed to know what anyone could find so cheerful about the mythical End of Days, even if it all was a sham. Smoky Tiger informed me that the notion that the world would literally end was misguided. I had to confess that I was ignorant of the origin of the word to Smokey so he enlightened me towards its Greek origin meaning “to uncover forever” or “to reveal what was once concealed never to be concealed again”. The apocalypse meant a great awareness would take place and the ways in which we, the people walking around on this world, would witness a shift in how we see and interpret ourselves and each other.

Importantly, he also shared that the apocalypse would happen on a global scale (which I feel we did see some spiritually apocalyptic events this year) but also on an individual. People would see the world changed if only to their eyes alone.

In that sense, 2012 was the year of a great apocalypse in my life. Without going into too great of detail (as I’m sure many details will bleed into future posts), I found myself single, homeless, and in town that I hated and all in about two hours. With the support of a few amazing people, I got through it. I am changed, I have a great deal more emotional scars, but I am well thanks to those that I love and that love me.

Anyway, the point is I stopped writing which is something that I look back on as being rather unfortunate. The posts I put up last April and May, and the ways in which they were received, made me so very excited. I felt as though I was participating in an important series of conversations and inspiring others to take part also; it was an amateur social-critics’ dream come true! And then, when my great epiphany hit, I stopped. Not because I didn’t want to write anymore but because I didn’t have a place to call my own where I could sit in comfort and type away. I am a creature of habit and when the comfortable and predictable space is removed I struggle to focus long enough to string enough words together to make an entry. I was also dealing with some very real personal demons as to who I am and what sort of effect I want to have on people that I encounter on the day to day.

The nice thing about an apocalypse is that, as much as it shreds your guts in the process, the time after it is a Renaissance of sorts. While I feel that a part of me died last year, it has cleared the way for a newer and better me. To make a long story short, I am in a very good place both spiritually and physically and I am going to be writing again!

So, I hope you all had as marvelous an apocalypse as I did and may 2013 be the best year of you life (so far)! You can expect in the next little while some a gender role-inspired post on “friendzoning”, a post on Dubstep (I know, right?), a new rant on white privilege, and what I hope to be a concise and far more intelligent than the standard argument as to why Romantic Comedies really do suck. I will leave you with this song because, after all, it’s a fresh year and everything is new.

Much love,

D.W.

2 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle in the Post-Apocalypse

  1. Here’s to all the great things 2013 has in store, Derek! Can’t wait to read your future posts and see what all these new horizons of thought an self have in store for you!!

    much love
    C

  2. I was going to say “welcome back,” but that casts an odd spin on things. I think it’s more of a “thanks for returning” situation. So, thanks; I’m looking forward to reading.

Leave a Reply

